Support Local News.

We've been with you throughout the pandemic, the vaccinations and the reopening of schools, businesses and communities. There's never been more of a need for the kind of local, independent and unbiased journalism that The Day produces.
Please support our work by subscribing today.

Business Briefs

Get the weekly rundown
Sign up to receive our weekly BizBuzz newsletter

EMPLOYMENT

Randall, Realtors' most recent new hires include: Achley Ingalls, East Lyme office, www.achleyingalls.randallrealtors.com; John Gurnee, Mystic, www.johngurnee.randallrealtors.com; Jason Pollard, Mystic; Sam Duncan, Westerly, www.samduncan.randallrealtors.com; Alena Roy, Westerly, www.alenaroy.randallrealtors.com; Ryan Lynch, Norwich, www.ryanlynch.randallrealtors.com; Danielle Lindquist, Norwich, www.daniellelindquist.randallrealtors.com; Heather Ramos, Norwich, www.heatherramos.randallrealtors.com; Layla Webster, Norwich, www.laylawebster.randallrealtors.com; Maggie Audit, Norwich, www.maggieaudit.randallrealtors.com; and Leia Policarpio, Norwich, www.leiapolicarpio.randallrealtors.com. For more information, visit www.randallrealtors.com/real-estate-careers.

WORKSHOPS

The Chamber of Commerce of Eastern CT will host a virtual panel discussion American Identity and Immigration: Developing a More Perfect Union on Tuesday, May 18, 4-5:30 p.m. An esteemed panel will share personal experiences, address what it means to be an immigrant in the United States, and discuss diversity, discrimination, and race identity in the professional sphere. Event is free, but registration is required. Register at www.ChamberECT.com/events or 860-701-9113.

SCORE:

"Advertising on and Measuring the Impact of Instagram," Meghan Crawford of Miranda Creative, Thursday, May 20, noon-1:30 p.m., Zoom.

"Shifting from 'Doer' to 'Leader' in Your Business," Richelle Jessey, Wednesday, May 26, noon-1:30 p.m., Zoom.

"How to Start & Run a Successful Non-Profit Organization," Bob Potter, Tuesday, June 1, 10–11:30 a.m., Zoom

"Navigating the PPP Loan Forgiveness Process," sponsored by Key Bank, led by Josette A. Hill, 2-3 p.m., June 9, Zoom.

Contact for questions/info: Anne Driscoll at anne.driscoll@scorevolunteer.org.

NETWORKING

The Chamber of Commerce of Eastern CT will host Pfizer Senior VP John Burkhardt on Wednesday, May 19, 8:30-9:30 a.m. for a virtual Business Breakfast. He will be joined by Jean Lee, Head of Portfolio and Project Management to discuss Pfizer's role during the COVID19 pandemic, vaccine development, and updates from Pfizer. $10 members, $20 nonmembers. Register at www.ChamberECT.com/events or 860-701-9113.

The Chamber of Commerce of Eastern CT will host Rep. Joe Courtney for a virtual Business Breakfast on Wednesday, June 9, 8:30-9:30 a.m. Serving on the House Armed Services Committee and Education and Workforce Committee, Courtney offers important insights for business and nonprofit leaders in the region. $10 members, $20 nonmembers. Register at www.ChamberECT.com/events or call 860-701-9113.

EVENTS

The Chamber of Commerce of Eastern CT Revolution Wind Golf Tournament will be held at Stonington Country Club on Monday, June 7. $800 per foursome. Register at www.ChamberECT.com/events or call 860-701-9113.

HONORS

Marie Tyler Wiley of William Raveis in Mystic has been recognized with the Most Prominent Agent Award for 2021 by Home Snap. She may be reached at 860-941-9519 or www.raveis.com/mariewiley.

GIVING 

The Chelsea Groton Foundation has awarded The Arc Eastern Connecticut $1,952.99 to create counter and display space for its cookie production micro-enterprise, which provides on-the-job vocational training to people with intellectual and developmental disabilities. For more information, visit www.TheArcECT.org.

The Chamber of Commerce of Eastern CT Foundation awarded grants in excess of $88,000 in support of 29 programs that benefit children and families in the region on April 22.  The 2021 Chamber Foundation grant recipients are Always Home, Inc., Catholic Charities, Diocese of Norwich, Inc., Child And Family Agency Of Southeastern Connecticut, Inc., Eastern Connecticut Workforce Investment Board, Inc., Eastern CT Community Gardens Association, High Hopes Therapeutic Riding, Higher Edge, Inc., Interdistrict Committee for Project Oceanology, Jewish Federation of Eastern CT, Madonna Place, Inc., New England Science & Sailing Foundation (NESS), New London Youth Affairs, Niantic Children's Museum, Norwich Community Backpack Program, Norwich Rotary Foundation, Pregnancy Support Center, Inc., Public Library of New London, S.T.E.P.S., Safe Futures, Inc., Sea Research Foundation, Inc. d/b/a Mystic Aquarium, St. Vincent de Paul Place, Norwich, Inc., Thames River Community Service, Inc, Thames Valley Council for Community Action, Inc., The Last Green Valley, The Riverfront Children's Center, Inc., Tommy Toy Fund, United Community and Family Services, Inc., United Way of Southeastern Connecticut, and Waterford Country School. The Foundation has the support of sponsors through the "Every Month is a Holiday" campaign, with year-long media sponsor The Day and creative support from Miranda Creative and Eighty Six Media. Since 2002, the Chamber Foundation has donated nearly $1.5 million. For more information, visit www.ChamberECT.com/foundation.

MEMBERSHIP

The Chamber of Commerce of Eastern CT welcomes its newest members: DoorDash; Kidds & Co in North Stonington; The Northeast Law Center, Putnam and Killingly; Nutmeg Pharmacy New London, LLC, and Bill Memorial Library. Visit www.ChamberECT.com to discover a full Chamber member directory.

 

READER COMMENTS

Loading comments...
Hide Comments

TRENDING

PODCASTS